badid.blogg.se

Voice over home studio computer
Voice over home studio computer










These can be bought relatively cheaply and as I was just dipping my toe in the voiceover water, I didn’t want to spend too much at the beginning. When I first started out in voiceover I initially bought myself a good quality USB condenser microphone that I could plug straight into my computer. Definitely NOT what you want for voiceover where you only want it to pick up what’s coming out of your mouth into the front of the mic, and not unwanted noises from elsewhere, or reflections of your voice coming into the back of the mic. Some microphones have a switchable pick-up pattern and can be changed, for example, from cardioid to an omni-directional pattern (where the mic picks up in all directions). The microphones used on stage by singers are different from those being used in a music recording studio, which are different again from those used in an television interview situation, or those used for voiceover.įor voiceover, the type of microphone needed is a condenser microphone with a cardioid (heart shaped) pick-up pattern.

voice over home studio computer

There are a number of different types of microphone, which have different qualities depending on what they are being used for. That being said, I do often get asked about what equipment I use, so I thought I would write a blog post about the various microphones and so on that I use in my business. Personally I’m not really very interested in gear – I know what I need and I’ve got what I need, but I’m not someone who has to have the latest gadget! If you’re the sort of person that likes technical kit, then being a voiceover artist might be the kind of job you’d like.












Voice over home studio computer